Who loves ricotta cheese?

Not me.

The funny thing it, there’s this little pizza place in the town where I grew up that makes chocolate cannolis to die for.  When I still lived there, my work friends and I would get pizza every Friday night after close (buffalo chicken, usually.  Also the best I’ve had!) and I never left without a cannoli.  But that is my sole tolerance for ricotta cheese, and I am so wary of it that I won’t even try to make cannolis myself.

I’m a little ridiculous like that.

The problem is, Matthew loves lasagna.  He loves Italian food in general.  Between my distaste for ricotta cheese and tomato sauce (love tomato soup though.  Weird palate, huh?) we don’t get a lot of it.  Oh, sure, I’ll make nice alfredo sauces and even some tasty other cream-based sauces, but they just aren’t the same.

Fortunately, I’m a nice girlfriend, and I indulge him from time to time.

This week, I went all out and combined two of his favorite foods (tacos and lasagna), using a recipe from The Girl Who Ate Everything (you can’t go wrong with her) and he devoured it.  It was a problem actually, because he came out to “help” as I was layering it.

_MG_0802

I had to shoo him away.  Artist at work!

And then again when it was coming out of the oven.  I think he would have burnt his mouth if I wasn’t there to stop him.

_MG_0804

I confined him to the bedroom where he distracted himself playing EVE Online, and I called him when his plate was ready.  He disappeared into his man cave and snuck out about five minutes later for seconds.

_MG_0805

Am I good, or what?

Taco Lasagna

  • Servings: 6
  • Print

You’ll Need:
12 lasagna noodles
1 lb. ground beef
1 package taco seasoning
1 egg
15 oz. ricotta cheese
4 c. shredded cheddar cheese
1 jar chunky salsa

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 350F.

Cook the lasagna noodles according to package directions.

In a skillet, cook beef until it is no longer pink.  Drain the grease and stir in the taco seasoning.  Mix well so meat is coated.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Mix egg and ricotta in a bowl until well combined.

In a 9×13 baking dish layer respectively noodles, ricotta mixture, beef, salsa, and cheese until you run out (I did three layers).  Top with any extra cheese.

Baked uncovered for 30-40 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and the casserole is cooked through.  Let it stand 10 minutes before serving.  Try it with any of your favorite taco toppings!

Makes: 6 servings

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 40 minutes + 10 minutes cooling
Calories:  781

Source: The Girl Who Ate Everything.

