I love baked good.  So, so much.  And I have no self-control around them.

I came across this recipe on one of those Eat Healthy! websites that I find myself searching for and then entirely disregarding.  I put myself on a strict diet for a couple weeks, then got sad because I like food and hate salad.  Boo.

I do like fruit though.  No, I love fruit.  Diet (boo!) or not, I eat it for lunch almost every day.  I polished off a watermelon last week (not all in one sitting) and it was wonderful.  Such a tasty treat, especially because, ugh, it hit 104 in Mass yesterday.  Yuck!

Now, I know the last thing anyone wants to do in the summer is turn the oven on.  Believe me, I lived through a childhood of hot dogs on the grill all summer because that oven was a monster in the July heat.  But, think of it as an investment… it’s only going to be on for a little while, and you get tasty treats out of it.

_MG_0830

Keep looking at that picture as motivation.

I adapted this recipe quite a bit.  I like a lot of different fruits, and didn’t want to overload the dish. Besides, sometimes, I am just not in the mood for kiwi.  Originally, it was called fruit pizza, but I adapted it.  That’s the best thing about cooking, isn’t it?  You can find something delicious, and then make it fit your lifestyle.

I made the crust (tastes like sugar cookies!) and the frosting, and put it in the fridge.

_MG_0822

Then I add whatever fruit toppings I want to it!  So far, I’ve tried raspberries, and blueberries and strawberries.

_MG_0824

_MG_0829

I like the blueberries and strawberries better, but that may just be because I had to get frozen raspberries.  There were no fresh ones at the grocery store!  Sadness.

I have kiwi and pineapple that I plan to try later today.  Pick and choose your favorite fruit!

Summery Fruit Bars

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 30min
  • Print

You’ll Need:
2 c. flour
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. cinnamon
2/3 c. sugar
2/3 c. brown sugar
1/4 c. butter, melted
2 large egg whites
1/4 c. applesauce
3 tsp. vanilla
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
1/2 c. powdered sugar
fruit of choice

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Spray a 9×13 baking dish.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, sugar, brown sugar, butter, egg whites, applesauce, and 2 teaspoons vanilla.  Combine well.  Press into the bottom of the baking dish and cook 14-16 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool, 10-15 minutes.

While the crust is cooling, make frosting.  Mix cream cheese, powdered sugar, and 1 teaspoon vanilla well, until there are no lumps and frosting is smooth.  Make sure the crust is cool, then spread evenly.

Refrigerate for 15 minutes or until you are ready to serve.  Serve with your favorite fresh fruits on top, or on the side!

Makes: 8 servings

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 16 minutes
Calories:  617 (doesn’t include fruit)

Source (Adapted): Skinnytaste.

