This is a recipe, but it is also a cautionary tale.

My greatest fatal flaw this that I rush things.  It has repetitiously been a concern in my workplace, among other areas of my life.  This flaw has resulted in many mistakes and scoldings, all of which are quite deserved.  Slowing down and taking my time is going to be a long road to redemption, but believe me, I am doing my best.

Sometimes, just sometimes, that falls into my cooking.

_MG_0781

See those tartlets?  At this point, they’re only half-cooked, but mmm, don’t they look tasty?  Just the right amount of cinnamon and sugar, and yum yum yum!

They’re covered in cumin.

If you note the recipe below, you will see there is absolutely no cumin mentioned, or even implied.  Nonetheless, whilst reaching for my spice rack, cumin was what I grabbed and generously applied.  I noticed the kitchen smelled a little… odd.

Fortunately for me, I noticed before they went in the oven for the final stretch, and I loaded them up with cinnamon.  In the end, I couldn’t even taste the cumin! … Nonetheless, that could have ended really, really badly.

_MG_0788

I would suggest cooking these for the lesser amount of time, unless you have a particularly disagreeable oven.  Also, assuming you don’t reach for the cumin instead of the cinnamon, yours will be a bit less brown and coated.  They were still tasty, though!  Trust me, if they weren’t I wouldn’t share them.

Cinnamon Apple Tartlets

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 15mins
  • Print

You’ll Need:
1 tube (8 oz.) refrigerated crescent rolls
4 1/2 tsp. cinnamon sugar (you can make this by combining 4 tsp. sugar with 1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon)
1 large apple, sliced (I used granny smith)

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 375F.

Separate the crescent dough into four rectangles (this came be done by placing two triangles side-by-side and closing the seams).  Sprinkle with 3 teaspoons of cinnamon sugar.  Bake for 5 minutes.

Arrange apple slices evenly over dough and sprinkle with the remaining 1 1/2 teaspoons of cinnamon sugar.  Bake another 5-8 minutes of until golden.  Serve warm with whipped topping and/or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 2 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 13 minutes
Calories:  230

Source: Simple & Delicious.

