The tastiest corn muffin I ever had, I ate when I was a little girl at a homestyle-cooking type chain restaurant called Cracker Barrel.  For those of you who aren’t familiar, Cracker Barrel takes the feeling of an earlier America, right down to their general store at the entrance, and entices you with cooking like your grandmother used to do.  Their walls are covered with simple vintage memorabilia, and 90% of their menu is cooked in butter… delicious, but bad for you (for health nuts, don’t worry, they’ve changed with the times and there’s many low-fat options now).

The Cracker Barrel was about 2 hours from where I lived growing up, so we only stopped there on special occasions and when we were heading in that direction.  I get stuck on foods, so I ordered the same thing every time – chicken tenders with mashed potatoes and homestyle apples.  A biscuit and a corn muffin came complementary with each entree.

The last time I was there, they weren’t as good, but when I was a kid, I remember smothering them in honey and butter and eating them slowly, savoring them.

This recipe is not a copy cat of theirs, but I’m down for any corn muffin recipe that uses honey.  Honey and corn muffins are like peanut butter and jelly for me.

Besides, I got to make it in a blender.  Fun!

IMG_0883

I only got seven muffins out of the mix, but as you can see, they were just the right size.  If you’re planning on feeding a crowd, I’d double the recipe.

IMG_0884

IMG_0885

I love baking.  Mush turns into deliciousness right before my eyes.  My oven could use a clean, though….

IMG_0888

And tada!  Delicious corn muffins!  The green spots you see are the poblano pieces.  I opted against seeding it, as I enjoy a little kick of spice, but that’s up to you!  Most people seed the peppers.  And, of course, serve with honey!

 

*Also, just because this bugs me, I know all my photographs are colorized a bit odd.  The lighting in my kitchen is awful, which is one of the reasons I’ve put off photographing the process for so long.  I futz around a little bit in Photoshop with them, but at the end of the day, some of them are just bad.  Bear with me, I’m moving in August to a nicer kitchen. 🙂

Honey & Poblano Corn Muffins

  • Servings: 7
  • Print

You’ll Need:
1/2 c. sugar
1 egg
2 tbsp. honey
1/4 c. plain Greek yogurt
1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
3 tbsp. olive oil
1/2 c. cornmeal
1 c. flour
1 large poblano pepper, seeded and diced

 

How To:

Preheat oven to 350F and generously spray a muffin tin with cooking spray.

Add sugar, egg, honey, and Greek yogurt to your blender and pulse until mixed well.  Add baking powder, baking soda, salt, and oil, and pulse again.  Add cornmeal and flour and pulse until smooth.  My batter was really thick here, so your blender may struggle.  Gently stir in the peppers (do not pulse)

Spoon (or pour, if you can!) batter into your muffin tin until they are 3/4 full.  Bake 13 minutes until tops brown slightly and a toothpicks comes out clean.

Allow to cool and drizzle generously with honey!

Makes: 7 servings

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 13 minutes
Calories:  378

Source (Adapted): Creme de la Crumb.

