I have an embarrassing confession to make:

I cannot make pancakes.

This is something I used to be able to do, when I was younger.  I used to make delicious pancakes chock-full of chocolate chips and chopped walnuts.  Sometime between the ages of 18 and 24, my brain decided that I no longer needed this information, and discarded it.  My brain and I need to sit down and have a talk, because I love pancakes.

These… are delicious.  But you will immediately see from my pictures that they don’t even a little resemble pancakes.  This has nothing to do with the recipe and everything to do with I-fail-at-pancakes.  It starts off pretty well.

IMG_0876

Then I pour it into the pan.  This is the point at which my I-fail-at-pancakes consciousness comes into play.  See, the last time I tried to make Red Velvet pancakes, they came out too thin, and turned into crepes.  Tasty crepes, but crepes nonetheless.  So here, I’m thinking, I’ll make one giant pancake, and the world will be great.

IMG_0877

Oh, naivety.

Then a few minutes later, when the edges are crisp and the middle is just a smidge bubbly, bam.  I try to flip it.

IMG_0878

And ta-da!  You have the Amber Pancake.

Ultimately what I end up doing here is futzing around until everything is cooked.  Waste not, want not!  Besides, it tastes good, even if it’s not pretty.

But again, as this has nothing to do with the recipe itself and more to do with my own fatal weakness, if you’re making these pancakes, they should and will look like this.

IHOP Copy Cat Red Velvet Pancakes

 

Mmm, pancakes.

*Also, just because this bugs me, I know all my photographs are colorized a bit odd.  The lighting in my kitchen is awful, which is one of the reasons I’ve put off photographing the process for so long.  I futz around a little bit in Photoshop with them, but at the end of the day, some of them are just bad.  Bear with me, I’m moving in August to a nicer kitchen. 🙂

IHOP Copy Cat Red Velvet Pancakes

  • Servings: 5
  • Print

You’ll Need:
2 c. pancake mix (I used Jiffy)
1 c. water
1 tsp. red food coloring
2 tsp. cocoa powder
2 tsp. powdered cocoa mix
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp. white vinegar

 

How To:

Mix all ingredients together well in a large bowl.  Don’t overmix, but make sure it isn’t chunky.

Heat oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Pour in batter by the spoonful.  Let cook until the edges start to brown and there is slight bubbling in the middle.  Flip carefully with a spatula.  Repeat.

If you pancakes fall apart, it’s okay, because they still taste good.

Makes: 5 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Calories:  243

Source (Adapted): IHOP at Home.

