I have been trying and trying to find a delicious recipe that involves peanut sauce, peanut glaze… some way that I can justify peanut butter into my dinner menu.  Short of a peanut satay, this is easier said than done.  I stumbled across this recipe on the National Peanut Board and thought to myself: It sounds like they know peanuts.  This will be good.

It is good.  And super easy.  When I get home from work, after the hour-and-a-half-at-best drive, the last thing I want to do it cook.  Eat, yes.  Cook, no. So it’s great you can pop these babies in the oven for half and hour before you do anything.

IMG_0871

Matthew is against all things meat + peanut butter, so he has opted to have his pork chop rubbed with a spice mix that was given to us by one of our old customers when we worked at Staples together.  It’s called “That Voodoo That You Do”.  Quick plug.  It used to be called Holy Smokes BBQ, but looks like she’s changed the name to Miss Linda’s Texas-Style BBQ.  She comes up to Keene, NH in the summertime from Texas and cooks us up a storm of delicious meats and melt-in-your-mouth brisket.  I’m relocating from Nashua, NH to Waltham, MA in August, and you better believe that I’m still going to make the hour and a half trek north to treat myself to some of her food.

Also I wish I could make my blog scratch and sniff, because that little bag of spice rub smells AMAZING.  As soon as I figure out how to replicate it, I’m going to use it on everything forever.  YUM.

But back to these peanut pork chops.

Delicious spice rub aside, the peanut glaze looked pretty tasty, too.

IMG_0872

And after searching and failing through several peanut-related dinner recipes, looks like I’ve finally found one that’s gold!

IMG_0875

*Also, just because this bugs me, I know all my photographs are colorized a bit odd.  The lighting in my kitchen is awful, which is one of the reasons I’ve put off photographing the process for so long.  I futz around a little bit in Photoshop with them, but at the end of the day, some of them are just bad.  Bear with me, I’m moving in August to a nicer kitchen. 🙂

Baked Pork Chops with Peanut Glaze

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

You’ll Need:
2 pork chops
2 tbsp. olive oil
2 tbsp. creamy peanut butter
2 1/2 tbsp. milk
1/2 tbsp. white vinegar
2 tsp. chili powder
1/4 tsp. salt

 

How To:

Preheat oven to 350F and line a pan with aluminum foil.  Add the pork chops and drizzle with oil (this keeps them from burning).  Cook for 30 minutes.

Meanwhile, mix peanut butter, milk, vinegar, chili powder and salt well until it forms a sauce. It may be a little thick, and that’s okay.

Remove the pork chops from the oven and spread the peanut sauce over them.  Return to the oven for 10 minutes to finish cooking.

Makes: 2 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 40 minutes
Calories:  433

Source: National Peanut Board.

