Sometimes, I like to pretend I’m fancy.  I’m not, by the way.  I live in a 530 sq. ft. apartment and only about 70-100 sq. ft. of that is the kitchen.  Approximately.  But I like to pretend anyway, because why not?  Just because I’m not a duchess doesn’t mean my vegetables can’t have french names.  So they do.

Haricots Verts à L’échalote translated is simply “green beans with shallots”.  It’s an incredibly easy dish to make, provided you can find the two main ingredients – french-cut green beans, and shallots.

IMG_0862

I got halfway there.  I have dozens of recipes with shallots, because they are delicious, and I can never find them when I want to.  It may just be the grocery stores I have nearby (ah, yes, Shaws and Market Basket – the epitome of produce), or the season, but when these finally popped up, I grabbed a handful of them.  So happy to have them!

French-cut green beans, on the other hand, were a different story.

IMG_0863

If you’re looking at that picture and thinking those look suspiciously canned – right you are!  So if you have to make this recipe with canned french-cut green beans, you’ll be fine.  The fresh ones are just tastier.  And healthier.

Additionally, regular green beans can be used, but when I was grocery shopping they looked sketchy, so I passed.  Really, the only difference between regular green beans and french-cut is the shape – haricots verts are longer and skinnier, but the flavor is virtually the same, unless you are a connoisseur (which I clearly am not).

These are a super easy, delicious, healthy addition to any dinner plate, so I really encourage you to give them a go!

IMG_0867

Haricots Verts à L'échalote

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

You’ll Need:
1 tbsp. olive oil
2 large shallots, thinly sliced
1 c. water
12 oz. harticots verts (French-cut green beans)
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper

 

How To:

Heat the olive oil in a large saute pan over medium-low heat.  Add the shallots and cook, stirring frequently, until soft (about 8 minutes).

Add the harticots verts, salt, and pepper and cook, stirring frequently for about 2 minutes.

(If you did not use fresh harticots verts, hurrah!  You’re done.  If you did, continue to the last step.)

Add 1/2 cup of water and cook, stirring frequently, until the water completely evaporates.  Repeat with the remaining 1/2 cup of water.  Make sure the beans are done to your preference and the pan is dry, otherwise the flavor with be diluted.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 2 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Calories:  47

Source: Once Upon a Chef.

