Where I grew up, there was no Dairy Queen.  In fact, my only memory of the chain at all is from a weekend in the Catskills, where we stayed at a little motel and there was a Dairy Queen we drove past.  I don’t even remember if we stopped there – if we did, the Snoopy Bars from the ice cream truck were far more exciting, and stick out in my mind more.

While I have long loved Creamcicles, I first tried an Orange Julius when I was in college and travelling from New Hampshire to Rochester, New York to get a friend who was going to spend Christmas with me.  We stopped at the rest stop in Waterloo on the Interstate, and there I had my first Orange Julius and of course a Dairy Queen hot dog.  I don’t know how many of you are familiar with DQ, but there is something fun about these chains that have a reputation as an American Classic.  Alongside Red Robin and Sonic, DQ is one of these and it does not disappoint.  You can’t go to one of these places and expect Class A service and quality food, but you can say it’s charming and 100% American.

I can make hot dogs like them, and now I can make their signature drink, too!

As a note, I used orange juice, but the original recipe called for frozen orange juice concentrate.  I hate concentrate.  But it is more potent, so if you want to try it, check out the source linked below.

 

Copycat Orange Julius

You’ll Need:

2 c. orange juice
1 c. water
1 c. milk
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. ice
whipped cream (optional)

 

How To:

Combine all ingredients in a blender, saving the ice for last.  Blend until fully combined.

Garnish with whipped cream, and enjoy!

Makes: 2 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: n/a
Calories:  212
Cost/Serving: $1.89*

Source (Adapted): Mom on Time Out.

20140520 - Copycat Orange Julius

 

Copycat Orange Julius

  • Servings: 2
  • Print

You’ll Need:
2 c. orange juice
1 c. water
1 c. milk
1/2 c. sugar
1 tsp. vanilla
2 c. ice
whipped cream (optional)

 

How To:

Combine all ingredients in a blender, saving the ice for last.  Blend until fully combined.

Garnish with whipped cream, and enjoy!

Makes: 2 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: n/a
Calories:  212

Source (Adapted): Mom on Time Out.

