As it turns out, I don’t know how to cut cauliflower.

At age 24, this has never been a problem before, as I am more beholden to broccoli, and only eat cauliflower when someone else has provided it, and then, typically only out of politeness.

I need to learn how to do it properly, because this is delicious.  Fortunately, there is a thing called YouTube and it is magical and tells you how to do things.  Therefore, I am embedding it here for future access, and for those of you who, like me, did not learn this at home.

Guys, I’m telling you, I looked at the cauliflower and went “psh, I can do this,” and I was wrong.  Consult an expert(ish) in the chopping of foods if you want your dishes to look as tasty as they are.  And yes, by “expert” I still mean YouTube.

And the recipe.  So simple.  And it smells so good while cooking!  Matthew, who is very much not inclined to anything that might be healthy for him, asked me what I was cooking, and was shocked when I told him.  He even said he might try a bite!  Guys – miracles happen.

The original recipe suggested a 40-45 minute cook time – I cut it down because I like a little natural juicy flavor in my veggies, but it’d be tasty at the full 45, too.  I’d also consider roasting it with garlic cloves in the future, just to pack an extra garlicky punch, but that’s me!

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

You’ll Need:

1 tbsp. olive oil
1 head cauliflower
2 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, grated
1 tbsp. parsley
salt
pepper

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 425F.  Coat a baking sheet with tin foil, and coat with cooking spray.

Chop the cauliflower and dump it on the foil-lined pan; drizzle with olive oil and toss with your hands to coat thoroughly.

In a small bowl, mix remaining ingredients.  Sprinkle over the cauliflower and toss again to ensure all florets are covered.

Cook for 30 minutes, removing from the oven every ten minutes to toss (so it doesn’t burn).  Cook an extra 10 minutes if you prefer your cauliflower a little crispier.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Calories:  83

Source (Adapted Slightly): Six Sisters’ Stuff.

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

You’ll Need:
1 tbsp. olive oil
1 head cauliflower
2 tsp. garlic powder
1/4 c. Parmesan cheese, grated
1 tbsp. parsley
salt
pepper

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 425F.  Coat a baking sheet with tin foil, and coat with cooking spray.

Chop the cauliflower and dump it on the foil-lined pan; drizzle with olive oil and toss with your hands to coat thoroughly.

In a small bowl, mix remaining ingredients.  Sprinkle over the cauliflower and toss again to ensure all florets are covered.

Cook for 30 minutes, removing from the oven every ten minutes to toss (so it doesn’t burn).  Cook an extra 10 minutes if you prefer your cauliflower a little crispier.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Calories:  83

Source (Adapted Slightly): Six Sisters’ Stuff.

