I have terrible eating habits, as many of the recipes in this blog with testify.  Every once and a while, usually in the spring/summer, I decide to do something drastic like “diet”.  I envy the people who have the strength of mind to do this all the time because I go a month and am a hopeless mess.  The gentleman I sit next to at work has given up dessert for a year and it has been 7 months and he is still going strong.  If that were me, I’d’ve melted into a hopeless pile of goo a long time ago.  Good for him!

My latest extravaganza has been the decision to do a “Meatless May”.  Yes, that’s right, my Chipotle chicken burrito from earlier this week is the last bit of meat I’ll be eating until June!  This isn’t to try to transition into Vegetarianism (I love bacon.  Mmmmmmm bacon bacon bacon), but rather to open my palate to more fruit and vegetable centeric dishes.

The first item on the menu was Sweet Carrot-Raisin Salad.

I adapted the recipe a little to my tastes, as I often do, and also because I intend for this to be a temporary thing, and honestly, I don’t like regular mayonnaise, so why would I go out and buy vegan-aise for a one time use?  No thanks!  But if you want to see the real recipe, I’ve linked the origin below.

I found it a little tangy, but overall, good!

 

Sweet Carrot Raisin Salad

You’ll Need:

2 c. shredded carrots
2/3 c. raisins
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. honey
1/4 c. vanilla yogurt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon

 

How To:

Mix together all ingredients.

For a less chunky salad, use baby carrots and grate them in a food processor.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: n/a
Calories:  123

Source: Lord of the Plate.

20140501 - Sweet Carrot-Raisin Salad

Sweet Carrot-Raisin Salad

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

You’ll Need:
2 c. shredded carrots
2/3 c. raisins
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 tbsp. honey
1/4 c. vanilla yogurt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon

 

How To:

Mix together all ingredients.

For a less chunky salad, use baby carrots and grate them in a food processor.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: n/a
Calories:  123

Source: Lord of the Plate.

