I pulled this recipe from one of my favorite Foodie Sites – The Girl Who Ate Everything – and I have to admit, I was a little bit apprehensive about it.  I’m still new to cumin as a spice, myself (I know, I know, I’m behind!) and I’ve never had it with steak.  It is one of Matthew’s favorites, though, so it was worth a try!

The original recipe suggested serving it with Chimichurri Sauce, which I thought was delicious. Matt didn’t like it, but it wasn’t his forte.  Try them both for yourself!

 

Skinny Cumin Steak

You’ll Need:

1 lb. flank steak, trimmed
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. olive oil

 

How To:

Rub the steak with cumin, salt, and pepper.  Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat.  Add steak and cook 3 minutes on each side or until it’s done to your preference.

Remove from pan and let stand for 5 minutes.  Cut steak diagonally into thin slices.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 1 minute
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 6 minutes
Calories:  253

Source: The Girl Who Ate Everything.

Skinny Cumin Steak

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

You’ll Need:
1 lb. flank steak, trimmed
1 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
1 tsp. olive oil

 

How To:

Rub the steak with cumin, salt, and pepper.  Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium high heat.  Add steak and cook 3 minutes on each side or until it’s done to your preference.

Remove from pan and let stand for 5 minutes.  Cut steak diagonally into thin slices.

Makes: 4 servings

Prep Time: 1 minute
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 6 minutes
Calories:  253

Source: The Girl Who Ate Everything.

