Last week, my car stopped working.  This is a common occurrence with me, and something I hate.  Shoot me in the leg?  I can handle it with dignity.  Tell me I need to put $3,000 into my car?  I turn into a sobbing child?  So I had to take the day off to deal with my car, since I work 40 miles away and I wouldn’t make it there in the vehicle’s current condition.  I was feeling pretty bad about it, since it was Tax Day and I work at a financial company, so I told myself I was gonna try to make it up to the team by making cookies for them.

Easter’s right around the corner and I’ve never made bird’s nest cookies, and it just so happened I had some candy eggs on hand, so I went searching for a good recipe.  All the ones I found required coconut, and most people don’t like coconut, so I left that off.

When I brought them in, I presented them to my boss as a “bribe” for failure to arrive at work on one of the stupidest days of the year.  After assuring me that no bribe was necessary, the team proceeded to eat them, and my boss dubbed them “dinosaur egg cookies”… which I liked quite a bit.

So.  These are Dinosaur Egg Cookies, and they are delicious.

I actually used Chocolate Peanut Butter to adhere the eggs, which I thought was tasty, but a lot of people won’t have that on hand. Nutella is listed in the recipe below, but regular peanut butter would work, too.

Dinosaur Egg Cookies

You’ll Need:

1 c. butter, melted
1 c. sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. flour
3/4 tsp. salt
~1 c. Whoppers Egg Candies (or candy or choice)
1/4 c. nutella

 

How To:

Preheat over to 350F.

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar together until fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla and mix.  Add flour and salt and stir until fully combined.

Roll dough into small balls and place on a baking sheet an inch apart.  Press down in the center of each with your thumb to make a bowl.  Repeat until you run out of dough (depending on the size of your cookies, it may take several batches).  Bake for 12 minutes.

Allow to cool for 10 minutes so the cookies are completely cool.  Spread a little bit of nutella in the bowls and affix three candy eggs in each.  You may use more or less nutella, as you prefer.

Store at room temperature.

Makes: 24 cookies

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 12 minutes/batch
Calories:  236

Source (Adapted): Little Bitty Bakes.

Dinosaur Egg Cookies

  • Servings: 24
  • Time: 46mins
  • Print

You’ll Need:
1 c. butter, melted
1 c. sugar
1 egg
1/2 tsp. vanilla
2 c. flour
3/4 tsp. salt
~1 c. Whoppers Egg Candies (or candy or choice)
1/4 c. nutella

 

How To:

Preheat over to 350F.

In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar together until fluffy.  Add egg and vanilla and mix.  Add flour and salt and stir until fully combined.

Roll dough into small balls and place on a baking sheet an inch apart.  Press down in the center of each with your thumb to make a bowl.  Repeat until you run out of dough (depending on the size of your cookies, it may take several batches).  Bake for 12 minutes.

Allow to cool for 10 minutes so the cookies are completely cool.  Spread a little bit of nutella in the bowls and affix three candy eggs in each.  You may use more or less nutella, as you prefer.

Store at room temperature.

Makes: 24 cookies

Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 12 minutes/batch
Calories:  236

Source (Adapted): Little Bitty Bakes.

