I am an incredibly picky breakfast eater.  I was spoiled growing up.  See, for a time before I was born, my father worked as a fry cook in a little diner in Connecticut.  Therefore, he makes the most scrumptious eggs, french toast, pancakes – you name it.  When I was little, he used to make breakfast every weekend… and when my mom made the eggs, to her constant vexation, I wouldn’t eat them.  While this is not one of my father’s recipes, I do have several of his posted (Pebble Eggs, Paper Eggs) that I couldn’t live without.

As I got older, I learned how to cook his eggs for myself, and over time have added my own (unhealthy) variations.  Unfortunately, the joy of my father’s cooking meant that it completely spoiled eating breakfast out for me, as I cannot stand anybody else’s eggs, save two.  IHOP makes a mean Bacon Temptation Omelette, and there’s a little diner near where I grew up that makes a cheddar-sausage omelette I like.  Literally, everything else I can’t handle.  This makes me incredibly wary when I come across a breakfast recipe that calls for eggs – even french toast!  I cannot abide eggy french toast.

This recipe made me nervous.  There are 5 eggs.  They are poured over the bread.  I feared all I would have is an egg casserole.  Not so.  This is one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten.  I even took some leftovers and ate them at work!  Too tasty!

Raspberry Cinnamon French Toast Casserole

You’ll Need:

12 slices cinnamon bread, cubed
5 eggs, beaten
1 3/4 c. milk
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. sliced almonds
1/4 c. butter, melted
2 c. fresh raspberries

 

How To:

Place bread cubes in a greased 9×13-inch baking dish.  In a bowl, mix eggs, milk, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking.  Preheat the over to 400F.  Sprinkle almonds over mixture.  Combine butter and 1/4 cup brown sugar – pour over casserole.  Bake, uncovered for 25 minutes.

Remove from oven and sprinkle with raspberries.  Bake 10 minutes longer.

Makes: 8 servings

Prep Time: 5 minutes
Chill Time: 8 hours
Cook Time: 35 minutes
Calories: 407

Source: Simple & Delicious.

Raspberry Cinnamon French Toast Casserole

  • Servings: 8
  • Print

You’ll Need:

12 slices cinnamon bread, cubed
5 eggs, beaten
1 3/4 c. milk
1 c. brown sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 tsp. nutmeg
1/2 c. sliced almonds
1/4 c. butter, melted
2 c. fresh raspberries

How To:

Place bread cubes in a greased 9×13-inch baking dish.  In a bowl, mix eggs, milk, 3/4 cup of brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg.  Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Remove from the refrigerator 30 minutes before baking.  Preheat the over to 400F.  Sprinkle almonds over mixture.  Combine butter and 1/4 cup brown sugar – pour over casserole.  Bake, uncovered for 25 minutes.

Remove from oven and sprinkle with raspberries.  Bake 10 minutes longer.

