I love tomato soup.

No, seriously, I love tomato soup.  It’s funny, because I can’t stand marinara sauce, and tomato soup is basically a watered down version of marinara.  Tomato soup was one of my childhood foods.  You know, the kind that you ate endlessly as a kid, and your parents kept hoping you’d grow out of it?  Yeah, I never grew out of it.  No matter the time of year, if I’m looking for a quick meal, I head right to the cupboard for a can of Campbells.

Over the years, I’ve made many alterations to my quick-fix meal.  I’ve cheesified it to death.  I’ve served it alongside grilled cheese.  I’ve spiced it up with cayenne and red pepper flakes.  This is the basil, everyday version of my “easy soup”.  It’s so simple, that anyone can make it!

I do have a version that is also very good that requires a bit more work and many more ingredients, so if you have a little time, take a look at the Creamy Tomato Basil Soup with Roasted Garlic and Asiago Cheese.

 

Easy Tomato Basil Soup

You’ll Need:

1 can Campbell’s tomato soup
1/2 can water
1 tbsp. dried basil
shredded cheese (optional)

How To:

Pour condensed tomato soup into a microwave safe bowl. Fill half the can of with water and add to condensed soup. Mix thoroughly.

Sprinkle basil on top of the tomato soup. Microwave for 3 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top, if desired.

Makes: 1 serving

Prep Time: n/a
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 3 minutes
Calories:  283

Source: Unknown.

Easy Tomato Basil Soup

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 3mins
  • Print

You’ll Need:

1 can Campbell’s tomato soup
1/2 can water
1 tbsp. dried basil
shredded cheese (optional)

How To:

Pour condensed tomato soup into a microwave safe bowl. Fill half the can of with water and add to condensed soup. Mix thoroughly.

Sprinkle basil on top of the tomato soup. Microwave for 3 minutes. Sprinkle cheese on top, if desired.

Makes: 1 serving

Prep Time: n/a
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 3 minutes
Calories:  283

Source: Unknown.

