Oatmeal is one of the healthiest breakfasts you can have.  Especially if you add fruit!  It’s filled with all sorts of goodness, not to mention it’s filling, tasty, and low calories.

_MG_0754

Growing up, I hated oatmeal.  My mother only served with with brown sugar – of which I required much – and even then it was unexciting.  Honestly, I was a shredded wheat kinda gal.  Still am!  But as I have learned and grown, I have discovered new and exciting ways to add a little color to my oatmeal… and new ways to use my fruit.  Because I love fruit, and eat it every day.  And still it manages to go bad in my fridge.  I feel like fresh fruit should last longer than three days, right?  I’m talking to you, strawberries!

Blueberries and brown sugar complement each other better than I would have thought.  No matter what I put in for fruit, I still need an edge of sweetness.  I’ve added candy chips (chocolate, peanut butter, oh my!) but at the end of the day, brown sugar is still my favorite.

_MG_0760

And hey, I’ve cut it down to a tablespoon.  So I must be a grown up now.

Brown Sugar & Blueberry Oatmeal

  • Servings: 1
  • Time: 11mins
  • Print

You’ll Need:

1/3 c. quick oats
1/4 c. blueberries
pinch salt
1 c. water
1 tbsp. brown sugar

How To:

Microwave oats, salt, and water for 3 minutes.

Let oatmeal sit 5 minutes to settle.

Sprinkle on blueberries and brown sugar. Stir to combine and serve hot.

Makes: 1 serving

Prep Time: 6 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 5 minutes
Calories: 172

Source: An OmNomNom Original.

