The first time I had Toad-In-A-Hole was at my childhood best friend’s house.  Her mother had (recently) married and Englishman of impeccable accent and charm, and best of all, he could cook.  You cannot imagine how much of a relief this was to her, as her mother was wanting a bit in that department.

I had met him before on one of two occasions, but the first thing he cooked when I was there for dinner was Toad-In-A-Hole.  I had never tried it before.  In fact, the only part of it I knew were my friend’s raving reviews, and she has always been an impossibly picky eater, so it must be delicious.

It was.  It is still a favorite for me today!

Toad in a Hole

You’ll Need:

small pork sausages
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 c. flour
2 large eggs
1 c. milk
salt

How To:

Preheat the oven to 400F.

Brush the sausages with oil and bake for 10 minutes.

Mix flour, eggs, salt, and milk and mix for 2 minutes.

Pour the batter around the sausages and put them back in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Serve hot.

Makes: 6 servings
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 50 minutes
Calories: 339

Source: A friend (Caitlyn, I believe this is yours!).

Toad-In-A-Hole

  • Servings: 6
  • Time: 1hr
  • Print

You’ll Need:
small pork sausages
2 tbsp. olive oil
1 c. flour
2 large eggs
1 c. milk
salt

 

How To:

Preheat the oven to 400F.

Brush the sausages with oil and bake for 10 minutes.

Mix flour, eggs, salt, and milk and mix for 2 minutes.

Pour the batter around the sausages and put them back in the oven for about 30 minutes.

Serve hot.

Makes: 6 servings
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 50 minutes
Calories: 339

