This is, hands down, my favorite thing to make for dinner.  It’s a lot of work, and normally, I’m against that, but this is delicious, and it makes so much food.  I’m not a leftovers person, but I would eat this every day.  So tasty.

My mother actually was the first one to make this.  She made it once.  We all loved it.  I’m not sure why she didn’t make it again. And again, and again, and again.

The real secret is in the sausage.  I used to just cook the sausage normally, but I made this for a couple friends last August.  David helped me cook while his wife was napping – she didn’t feel well – and added this little tidbit, which I’ve been doing since.

_MG_0739

It’s the red wine and the sausage.  The pasta is good without it, but it’s delectable with it.  Thanks, Dave!

My mother always kept the pieces separate, believing firmly that each should be able to combine the ingredients in any ratio they want.  I disagree, and it’s not only because I know all the sausage will disappear quickly.  Adding the sausage to the pasta and stirring it altogether means the juices seep into the sauce.  Not a good option for vegetarians, given, but better tasting altogether.

_MG_0749

Did I mention this is one of my Top 5 Favorite Recipes of All Time?  Go make it.  Seriously.  No regrets.

Garlic Herb Pasta with Sausage

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 40mins
  • Print

You’ll Need:

1 box jumbo pasta shells
2 packets Knorr Garlic & Herb powdered sauce mix
3 c. milk
2 tbsp. butter
1/4 c. red wine
1 package hot Italian sausage links

 

How To:

Prepare the pasta as indicated on the box. Use a large pot.

While pasta is cooking, place sausages in skillet and cook until browned and cooked thoroughly.  Remove from skillet and slice into 1/4” to 1/2” slices.  Set aside.

When pasta is cooked thoroughly, drain and set aside. Wash and reuse large pot for sauce. Mix milk, butter, and sauce mix, stirring constantly. Bring to boil. Reduce heat if sauce begins to burn. Stir constantly for about 30 seconds then bring to a simmer, still stirring. Simmer and stir until sauce thickens.

Return sausages to the skillet and cook with red wine.  Continue cooking until all the wine has dissolved.  Remove both sauce and sausage from burner.

Add pasta and sausage pieces to the sauce and stir until well mixed and thoroughly coated. Serve hot.

Makes: 8 servings
Prep Time: 10 minutes
Chill Time: n/a
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Calories: 461

Source: An OmNomNom Original.

 

